Sanitary Sewer System

The Public Works Department operates and maintains 68 miles of sanitary sewer along with four lift stations, and an excess flow facility. The Park Forest sanitary sewer system is divided into 3 subsystems, The North, Central, and South systems. Each of these areas flow to separate trunk sewers where the waste water is then conveyed to Thorn Creek Basin Sanitary District for treatment.

The Department of Public Works is responsible for the structural integrity and proper function of this part of the village infrastructure. This is accomplished by routine sewer cleaning, sewer televising, sewer replacement, and sewer lining.